It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims, The cultural traditions are generated and preserved mostly in cities than in rural regions. It is too broad to consider that only cities are responsible for cultural generation and preservation. The rural regions will have the retro cultural tradition which is followed even now in some regions whereas cities are adapting the new trends in the society. Therefore both the cities and the villages are responsible for cultural generation and preservation.

First, The cities will have a fast growing economy than villages due to the industrial, Technological evolution. Since, most of the people in the cities are dogmatic and only focused on their workplace and their belongings, they do not care about the traditional in the society. Some of the experts consider that education also plays a vital role in the traditions.

The unawareness of the people in cities may results in cultural degradation. Because they are not actually experience the real heritage of a culture, All they do is browse them on internet and have a blind knowledge about the traditions. For example, In India, especially in Tamil Nadu, a state, The people in the rural areas have a tradition of organizing a brave sport called "Jallikattu". It is similar to the bull run in Spain. But many people in the cities are against it, because they think they are hurting the bull. They are filling the cases to ban these kind of sports without any personal experience or any investigation. Thus the people the cities does not the real value of the cultural traditions.

When we are considering the 20th century, the cities are adaption to the newer culture. They are following the other countries traditions. This becomes a fashion now-a-days. May be in future years, cities may be the reason for the generation of the newer cultural traditions.

In conclusion, nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved in both the cities and rural areas. And it depends on the views of a person about the cities and villages.