It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cities are places that a lot of citizens live and work, while rural areas definitely have less dense population. Cultural traditions of a nation can be generated in both types of areas and we cannot conclude that cities are the primary places that cultural traditions are generated and preserved. I will explain the reasons for this argument in the below essay.

First, there are a lot of a nation’s traditions that are originated from the rural areas. People in the rural areas have different life style from the urban people, so many local traditions are always found in specific rural areas. In Thailand, one of important cultural traditions is Thai foods. There are various kinds of traditional Thai foods and these foods come from every part of the country. Different parts of Thailand have different types of vegetables, fruits, and spices. Therefore, the food ingredients are varied from one place to the others and it results in the variety of Thai foods. Only the cities cannot create as many types of foods as we have today. As a result, the rural areas are the important parts in a nation’s tradition formulation.

Second, most cities do not have an abilities to preserve a nation’s traditions. Many big cities around the world such as Bangkok, Tokyo, and London comprise of people from other nations around the world. The cultures and traditions in these cities are influenced by the multinational cultures. Accordingly, it is very difficult to preserve the nation’s original tradition in big cities. For instance, Thai people have the tradition in respecting the elders and seniors. Young people have to obey the instruction of the elders, although they sometimes do not agree with them. However, people in Bangkok have a lot of opportunities to see the western cultures that one should believe in oneself if there are enough supported reasons. Consequently, most young generations in Bangkok do not follow Thai old tradition and this specific tradition is disappearing from Bangkok and other big cities in Thailand. For this reason, we cannot say that cities are the primary places to preserve nation’s traditions.

One may argue that there are various nation’s traditions in many cities because they are places that people from everywhere in a country gather together. This statement may be true but these different traditions in cities are not generated from the cities themselves. Most of them are generated from many specific rural areas in the nation and people from different areas bring them to cities. We can see many local languages in cities because people in cities come from different regions. However, these local languages are not originated in the cities. Therefore, cities are not the origins of most traditions of a nation.

All in all, cities are not the primary places that a nation’s traditions are generated and preserved. In the contrary, the rural areas are the places that generate and preserve these traditions.