It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Social group is a broad definition, which we use to present a specific gathering of people by different occupations, location, relation, education and so on. Considering the feature of human that we are gregarious animals, I largely agree with the statement that it is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

As is known to us all, social interaction plays such an important part in our lives that nearly nobody could realize his or her value without it.According to Maslow’s hierarchy needs theory, people have the psychological tendency of identifying with a certain social group, in which they could find an appropriate position and play the social role. There are two kinds of groups depend on the relationship and numbers of its members: the primary group and the secondary group. The former one usually consists less people with more intimate relationships, such as family members or best friends, while the latter may refer to a large amount of people with same goal or interests, such as your colleges. Based on the social role theory, a person has to play various roles in different groups. For example, a woman performs as a strict and hard boss when she works, but when she comes back home, she acts like a gentle and considerate mother. Such case s of role transformation almost happen on everyone’s daily life, so we have to remind ourselves what social groups we are in if we want to behave appropriately. It is absurd that you behave carelessly and rudely at the face of your employer because he is like your father.

Identification with certain groups does influence us a lot. People tend to simulate the behaviors of others in the reference group, especially for teenagers. Recent researches on American high school students have shown that the phenomena of smoking, drinking or even crimes are likely to take place in cluster. Sociologists have also investigated into the problem which they call “peer effects”, and establish models to prove the hypothesis: young adults do feel intangible pressure to conform with others, no matter that these behaviors are deemed by their parents. Also, some specialists have found that people are inclined to get happiness from comparing with their reference groups. Esterlin’s Paradox shows that people’s happiness do not always go up as the economics thrives-- there maybe a more important factor rather than absolute income, such as relative income, that effect people most.

Furthermore, overly identification with one’s social groups may lead to unexpected results. Although in Plato’s The Republican, the society is well stratified and grouped under the reign of a great leader, it is too realistic to become true in reality. In some societies the social stratification are not only obvious but fixed. The lack of fluidity offers less chances for people in lower classes to climb up, and thus may spurn the development of the whole society. For example, in India, where the Caste system entrenched in traditional culture, people are highly aware of which classes they belong to, they are used to it and seldom desire to change there social status. Therefore, despite that we need to behave on different conditions, we should not confine ourselves in a fixed group ;in certain cases, we need to believe that we could change our social groups by endeavors.

In sum, it is natural for people to define themselves through our social groups so that they could behave themselves, but we should also not restrain ourselves in certain groups, only through our own endeavors could we change the position.