It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

There is a significan’t importance in the feedback we get from society, and it has been known since the ancient times that human beings are “social” creatures. However, to say the way we define ourself is mostly done from our interactions with social group is to go a little bit too far. The way we define ourselves is so complex that any claim about it should be careful and not absolut.

First, I would like to make evreything as simple as it can but simpler as Albert Einstein portraited a successful scientifc endeavor. Unfortunatly, our self image is a controversial subject, and was so always and even more after Zigmund Freud came up with his revoulotanry theory of psycho-analysis. It is still unknown today how we define ourselves and what the ingredients that take place in such a process. Sure, we are social, from our social interactions that occure regularly, we learn, and develop. Nevertheless, there is no proof that those social interactions are the primary shaper of our identity.

Additionaly, there is on going philosophical debate about what is real. How can one be assured that things external to him or her even exist? the external world is always suspicious of being imaginary and unreal. In that since, it is debatable wether or not such an external factor even have any influence at all. If it does not exist in reality, from the pure logical perspective it does not exist at all and therefore cannot be the main arena for the process of self defintion.

Finally, there is a notion of vauge language that is going on that prevents from the original statement the possibilty of being accurate and lucid. It is not clear what is meant by “identification with social group”. It is unclear which social group are this process is aiming to point for. Social group can be anywhare from two individuals to millions and even billions of people.

To conclude, even though the claim is going too far there is an interaction between social environment and the individual. There is an old Cheinese proverb that raise a similiar point about a falling tree in a middle of forest with no withnesses. But, to go for one sided answer on such an arcane issue would not be an anlytical discerining step. There should be some progress in science before we can take such statements with a sound ground below us.