It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

There is a significant importance in the feedback we get from society, and it has been known since the ancient times that human beings are “social” creatures. However, to say the way we define ourself is mostly done from our interactions with social group is to go a little too far. The way we define ourselves is so complex that any claim about it should be careful and not absolute.

First, “let us make everything as simple as possible but not any simpler,” as Albert Einstein portrayed a successful scientific endeavor. Unfortunately, our self-image is a controversial subject, and was so always and even more after Sigmund Freud came up with his revolution theory of psycho-analysis. It is still unknown today how we define ourselves and what are the ingredients that take place in such a process. Sure, we are social, from our interactions that occur regularly, we learn, and develop. Nevertheless, there is no proof that those social interactions are the primary shaper of our identity.

Additionally, there is ongoing philosophical debate about what is real. How can one be assured that things external to him or her even exist? The external world is always suspicious of being imaginary and unreal, a fake one. In that since, it is debatable whether such an external factor even have any influence at all. So, if the externalities do not exist in reality, from the pure logical perspective it does not exist at all and therefore cannot be the main arena for the process of self definition.

Taking a leap to other side of the coin, the argument could have been strengthened by making some corrections and adding limits to its main line. If the claim was that social interaction affect our own image without attempting to quantify this effect, it would have been much more plausible. Without doing this modification the claim is dubious and unlikely to hold under serious examination.

Finally, there is a notion of vague language that is going on that prevents from the original statement the possibility of being accurate and lucid. It is not clear what is meant by “identification with social group”. It is unclear which social group are this process is aiming to point for. Social group can be anywhere from two individuals to millions and even billions of people.

To conclude, even though the claim is going too far there is an interaction between social environment and the individual. There is an old Chinese proverb that raise a similar point about a falling tree in a middle of forest with no witnesses. But, to go for one sided answer on such an arcane issue would not be an analytical discerning step. There should be some progress in science before we can take such statements with a sound ground below us.