knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions in today.

It is quiet natural in humans to learn from the mistakes in the past. So, the fact that knowing about the past will not help to take decision for the future seems untrue. On the contrary, understanding the faults done previously will actually help people to take smarter and wise decisions.

Like in case of scientists, knowing the previous results will them help to predict the outcomes as well as compare the results with the earlier ones. Similarly, for cricketers, the prior knowledge of a pitch will help them to predict decent score. Also, in field of share market, understanding the trends of the shares will allow one to invest in wise manner.

Learning from the past has always helped a person and it is often said that one becomes expert in any field if he has learnt from his mistakes. Likewise, for a student interested in pursuing knowledge about latest technology, it is necessary for him to have basic knowledge of the past technologies so that, he will find all the shortcomings in the earlier modules and prepare a new and better one.

Although, it is true that sometimes one should overlook the past results as they may have a negative impact on the objective. For example, despite of working really hard for a competitive exam, the student is unable to get admit in his desired college then, he might think of giving up his future education or may switch to some other field just because of bad results in past. In such cases, the past outcomes should be neglected and one should be more optimistic.

In sum, the past knowledge will always help one to take wise decisions and is often one of the characteristic of a sage.