Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

The assertion that laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times and places is a controversial. As one can argue that flexibility in laws allows criminals to misuse them. On the other hand, we can see in some particular cases that harsh times, circumstances and places may result in an impulsive action by a person.

So, as to keep balance between flexible and rigid laws. A government should define a law as flexible or inflexible in the constitution. For instance, some laws should be zero tolerance with no flexibility such as extortion, murder, rape and the criminal should be exonerated immediately. Such is an example of a recent case of rape in India, “The Nirbhaya Rape case” in which one of the accused was a juvenile but was exculpated because he was considered a minor. In such cases the government should have rigid laws for people committing such brutal crimes.

On the other hand, sometimes the circumstances make a rather ingenuous person break the law. For instance ,in a case of self defense if a victim hurts the attacker ,he/she should be able to justify his position before an outcome is encrusted upon by the justice department. But these cases can be exploited and can lead to falsification of documents to render the court’s decisions.

Thus it is very important for a government to keep a check on flexibility of laws and rendering on constitution, for this government can set up a special task which can review the cases and can decide the law applicable to it.

So, I agree with the author to some extent that the laws should be flexible but should be thoroughly monitored. But a country is bound to be doomed if its constitution is being changed or altered frequently, so a government should have maintain a check on this. In some cases, the law needs to be altered for the greater good.