Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Laws are set of rules commonly decided by society, government for smooth functioning and to maintain peace, harmony among people.I agree that laws need to be flexible enough to take into account of different circumstances, times and places.

Even though, it is necessary to have common law for everybody, the same law can not be applied in different circumstances. For example, the same punishment can not be given to two different murderers. In one case, murderer may have a motive of revenge whereas in other case he may be trying to save his own life. Here, applying the same law to two different situations is not justifiable.

In some cases, few modifications are required in laws after some period of time. The older laws may become outdated and cannot be applied as it is. For instance, in earlier days the property of father was shared only to his sons as his heirs. However, the law has been modified and all the siblings are now considered equally for the share. Women are also considered to receive the equal share from the property. Sometimes, new evidences, scientific studies enforce government to make changes in the law. For example, homosexual marriage was banned in almost all countries. But when doctors and psychiatrists proved that being homosexual is completely normal human behaviour, many countries made homosexual marriage as a legal marriage.

Even though, at some extent flexibility in laws is required, it should not be too flexible to lose the credibility. An equal law need to be considered for politicians or rich businessmen or common people. Politician and rich businessmen should get escaped from conviction due to their authority or money. Otherwise, it will create imbalance in the society and people will lose the trust over laws.

Therefore, it is important to have flexible laws. However, primary function of law that is to keep equality and harmony among society need not be tampered.