Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Some people argue that it is demand of a certain era that creates leaders and heroes. Others hold that leaders stand out among ordinary people because of their talents and efforts. These two views are equally important and mutually exclusive. I concede that the births of leaders have much to do with the demands that are placed on them, but it is the specific character and experience of leaders that distinguish them from the masses.

Admittedly, the demands of a certain era call for the emergence of leaders. After World War I, Germany was forced to pay large amount of money to compensate France and other countries that won the cruel war. What’s worse, hit by the Great Depression, the economy of Germany collapsed. The marriage of hyperinflation and skyrocketing employment rates in Germany called for a strong leader who could help Germany overcome difficulties and make Germany great again. Demands in Germany in 1930s precipitated Adolf Hitler’s rise to power.

However, the demands in Germany did not necessarily guarantee Hitler’s grab of power. Why was Hitler, not somebody else, able to successfully exploit the sufferings and hatred of the German people? If we examine Hitler’s life carefully, we will soon find out that Hitler came to his power largely because of his effort and his talent of goading the audience in his speech. His book “My Struggle” documented how he planned every single step to help Germany restore his past glories. Therefore, compared to the demands in that era, Hitler’s efforts and talents of speech played a more crucial role in his road to power.

Faced with the same Great Depression, the U.S. took a different response. The demands in the U.S. were similar to that of the Germany: the nation called for a strong leader who could protect its interest and help the nation go out of trouble. Different to Germany where a dictator rose to power, Roosevelt won the election in 1930s and became the President of the United States. Based on Keynesian theory, Roosevelt put forward many new policies to stimulate economy and the U.S economy bounced steadily. It was Roosevelt’s determination to adopt a set of new and controversial economic policies that pulled U.S economy back on track. This example clearly demonstrates that similar demands could lead to desperate results.

Hitler became the leader of the Germany because of his efforts and talents of speech. Roosevelt came to his power thanks to his embrace of a set of new economic policies that gave American people hope. Another convincing example for my point of view is the great leader of the U.S. Civil Right Movement, Martin Luther King. Some people may say that Dr. King became the leader of the Black People fighting for equality because of the demands placed on him. This statement ignores Dr. King’s personal endeavor and the non-violence demonstration policy he insisted. Were there no Dr. King, there would definitely be another leader for the Civil Right Movement, but we would not have the chance to appreciate iconic public speech of “I have a dream”, and the climax of Civil Right Movement may come much later because of the absence of Dr. King.

To conclude, the creations of leaders are correlated with the demands placed on them. However, history is replete with examples where similar demands gave birth to different kinds of leaders, and we should not exaggerate the effects of the demands. Efforts, talents, and their political or economic policies play a more important role in leaders’ creation.