The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Luxuries and conveniences of our lives, provide comfort for every one of us. While such a comfort is needed in order to have a more relaxed life, an overreliance on these items hamper us to become a strong and independent person. The statement above holds true as long as the trend of overreliance on these stuffs is increasing.

To begin with, conveniences of contemporary life are mainly the products of technology. By consuming energy, conveniences make the life easier for the people. We need oil to run our vehicles. We need electricity to turn on our computer, television, lamps, microwave, washing machine, and so on. Dependence of human being on the conveniences can be revealed clearly by the dependence of us on consuming the energy. Nowadays, by sitting in front of the television and ordering virtually everything via internet people do not promote physical activities. Due to this fact, the percentage of obesity in the United States of America is rising, pushing this country at the brink of a crisis.

Furthermore, luxuries are the product of consumerism. People buy expensive stuffs merely because it is a fashion. Unfortunately, there is an increasing trend, especially in youth who identify themselves with having luxuries. Instead of doing hard works to make a decent character, owing a certain mobile phone, putting on some expensive clothes or a chic glasses, makes them think that they are special, which is a false belief. They lose the opportunities to become a real strong person. Indulgent of youth in the conveniences and luxuries, distract them from making use of opportunities to evolve courage, genius, and diligence in themselves.

Finally, only by challenging oneself does one become strong and independent, which by the increasing reliance on the luxuries and conveniences, such a growth seems less probable. History attests that powerful individuals raised in the cradle of hardship not comfort and ease. Mahatma Gandhi stripped himself from even a good clothing and food, in doing that, he became the source of inspiration that what is inside is precious not what everyone owns. Winston Churchill as a grandson of a Duke who was from an affluent family, was sent to the Imperial Military School. In tolerating the hardships of such a military school, he became the savior of the Britain. Since people are increasingly adapting to ease and comfort it is less likely that people challenge themselves. Therefore, luxuries and conveniences can drastically hamper masses in developing strong personalities.

In short, to make a strong character, people need to go through hard situations and challenge themselves. The increasing reliance of people on the conveniences and luxuries preclude them from becoming strong characters. This is because, fewer and fewer people would be willing to challenge themselves as they are adapted to comfortable lives.