Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is a known fact, that mass media and the internet have casued population's attention span to get shorter. Some people claim that this peril is mitigated with a better ability of sorting a vast amount of data. Nevertheless, the effects of losing focos, are by far supressing the benefit of this new ability. Hence, the problem of undermining attention should be addrressed imediatly by responsible authorities and the internet's content makers.

First, it might seem that the effect of shorter attention span is harmless, and natural like at one day smoking was. Human is an adaptive creature and we have tendecy to adapt to change very quickly and realize their long term effects much later. In that sence, there might be some more effects of the inability to focus. For example teachers today report it is much harder to get the attention of their pupils. of course this effect is negative on the overall learning of the class and starts a feedback loop which one student with concentration deficency causing another child to loose focus, making the whole environment much more frentic and not receptive for learning.

Secondly, another harsh effect off attention defeciency is that is clear that this mass media effect is causing people to become more anti-social and show less empathy. The abilty to show empathy is very important for individuals and society, and one of its main ingridients rely on the ability to understand delicate information from the person infront of them. The capacity to interpert this information rely on the ability to stay focused and not moving from one stimula to another interchangibly.

Finally, the ability to sort data has it merits, people today are genrally smarter in the classical sense. Yet, this inteligence is not enough though to make up for the social risks involved in developing individuals who are much less likely to be empathetic towards their peers.

To conclude, it is essential to understand that for a variety of reasons, namely the lessen ability to learn in social environment and the loss of empathy, the seemingly benefit of sorting through large data is just not enough to make up on the cons on the social side of the human equation.