Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Mass media play a vital role in providing information to the people. Internet is one of the very important resource where people get to know latest news and media has presence over there as well. Mass media and internet together has made massive information available to the people unlike news paper which concentrates more on local news and less on global aspects. So I agree with the fact that overall effect has been positive, while people have become less attentive they are now possessing enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information.

Traditional news paper cater more of local news than global news. This leads less information be to available to the end user. Having only one news paper enabled people to spend more time on specific news hence they were more attentive. Introduction of mass media and internet has taken things by par. Now tremendous about of information is available at any time. What happens in japan gets instantly shared in the USA and china or any corner of the world. People have immediate access to all the happenings around the globe. Apparently, people can given attention to the information of their interest rather than irrelevant and inconsequential news.

Medial has become more pragmatic now a days. They have come up with digital techniques on targeting the right audience. Facebook is the biggest content based social media website where people spend a plethora of time. Mass media makes use of this medium and reaches the maximum audience. Facebook itself has a 'trending' section which is no less a news, providing latest information and happenings. This availability to plethora of information has enhances people's knowledge and ability to filter what they are interested in.

To bolster my statements, I would like to give an example. There is a mobile app names 'inshort', which sends latest news in sixty characters as a notification to mobile phones. This app has become increasingly famous as it does not give elaborated news but all the news in a very laconic way. The popularization of such app shows how people tend to know more info in short rather than few in detail. Other news channel came up with similar idea on their channel website where people can read news of their interest in a very lucid way. Thus, we can see that the overall effect is undoubtedly positive.

One advantage of having access of diversified news is that, people may not have profound knowledge of everything but in bit and pieces of everything. Now, this adds to the advantage when people meet up to socialize, one would be able to talk on any topic. Upon discussion, people will get to know more about and ultimately profound knowledge of that topic.

Therefore, we can extrapolate that even though mass media and the internet have caused people's attention span to degrade, the overall effect has been positive. They are now possessing enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find more relevant information.