Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People are more attentive towards the things they like and have developed a ability to overlook unimportant issues. People, before mass media and internet use to focus on all the news available to them, even if it was of no importance to them.However, the mass media and internet have caused people to focus on more important and interesting things.

Mass communication and internet are a result of technological advancements. One has developed dependency on computers, mobile phones, television, etc. Everyone uses internet, ranging from the most basic needs, such as buying clothes, paying electric bills, to more important issues such as banking and national security. The access to mass communication helps to get information about whats going on in the world. People come to various activities happening around the world through news channel. News channel cover a wide area of fields such as politics, sports, business, etc. As a result people choose to watch the news in their area of interest.

Elucidating above statement, consider a banker who is more interested in watching banking news. He is more likely to follow the financial news channel rather than local news channel. There can also be the case that he must be following two or three different financial news channel. As a result, he will get to see what he likes rather than watching some unwanted local news. If this had been the case few decades back, the only reliable source of information of finance was newspapers. As a result, the information available at that time was not from all over the world. Hence, the source of bankers information was limited.

Moreover, with the help of internet we can access any information. Culture, politics, food, lifestyle, literature, science, etc you google it and you will be enlightened about the same. The person wanting to buy new phone or being curious about how an automobile works can easily get information about the same through internet. Considering the example of person who was curious about same thing few decades back, it was not possible for him to look up everything on internet. As a result he was more attentive to various unimportant things rather than his field of interest.

Although, the invention of mass media and internet is a boon for many of us, it has some deleterious effects as well. As a result people become more attentive to violent crimes as well. Because of mass media a crime that was unknown to some part of the world now becomes known. Exemplifying, a person who didn't known how to steal a car can be educated to do so by some news channel showing how a their stole a car. This have a bad effect on society. Also there are various websites that show how you can make weapons of mass destruction with just few chemicals. Hence, it is harmful as well.

In conclusion, people are more attentive towards the things they like and have developed a ability to overlook the unimportant issues.