Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the morning of 21st Century came the Technology, and such technology that it outpaced our imagination and changed the world forever. Technology in form of internet, the mobile devices, smart watches and several others has made our lives to integrate seamlessly with it, making it almost an unimaginable prospect in the present time to live without technology. With the technology came mass media and internet which has succeeded to flourish and continue to grow even more, which not only has provisioned us with the the latest updates of the world but also the ability to sift the wheat from chaff.

The positive influence of technology is greatly pervasive, so much so that even the toddlers are glued to it, swiping pages upon pages on internet and watching videos on social media. Firstly, the mass media and internet has worked to enhance our cognitive abilities in sifting through volumes of data, as one becomes inured to the process of identifying the relevant information in a split-second and discarding the rest. This skill is essential for this age, where the amount of data available is humongous and requires to be filtered. More so, the sheer volume of data has presented the world with new-age jobs, that of a Data scientist, who is responsible for making sense from the unorganized data. When it is evident where the world is heading, into the age of data, this ability to find what is important instead of focusing on a single thing is the need of the hour.

Further, it may well be claimed that mass media and internet may have reduced the attention span. While this may be true, its relevance may not hold ground in the time of rapidly evolving technology. There are scientific reports that claim reduction in attention span owing to use of mass media and internet,but in all likelihood, it concerns the excessive use and not the moderate use. In fact, excess use of anything is bad be it technology or sleep, and hence it is important that we exercise caution when we depend on technology. It also wouldn't be wrong to say that attention span has reduced because we are flooded from information from all ends. But, this reduced attention span is benefiting the world, for we are required to do multiple things in the present time. The downside of reduced attention span may have been more relevant in earlier times when neither was there such volumes of data nor was there a pressure to excel. Given that the society expects an individual to do everything possible in their human capacity-from excelling in studies to sports to appearance, the technology for certain has benefited us.

To conclude, it may be more agreeable if we view mass media and internet as purveyors of salves who soothe the need of the millenials to stay connected 24x7, thereby bridging the gaps and connecting people across the globe. Further, given that the technology has made everything to happen at such rapid pace, it has also helped in evolution of mankind as more adaptive individuals with faster ability to identify the good from bad , thus enabling quicker decisions.All in all, the overall effect has been positive.