"The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards."

The opinion that a company's most effective strategy in maintaining and increasing profits over the long term by upholding a high ethical standards is one that I can strongly agree with. Although it might be that there is a high initial cost of investment for ethical strategy, in the long run the returns to the company will many times greater.

A company who sole purpose is gaining profit through unscrupulous means will not be able to maintain the same level of profit for long. For example, Food and Beverage brand Ayam Brand saw a drastic drop in profit when an independent body reported that their source of tuna was not environmentally viable. The company that supplied the tuna to them were catch fishes using deep sea trawlers that were severely harming the population of sea animals, dolphin amongst others because they nets they used did not discriminate between the kind of animals caught. As a result, consumers boycotted their brand and their profits never recovered until they agreed to switch suppliers. Although the cost price of their canned tuna is now higher, more and more consumers are turning to their brand for environmentally sustainable tuna, which in turn will generate more profits for the company in the long term.

Entertainment companies have also seen that their profits were reduced when they resorted to ethical questionable practices. For examples, film studios are resorting to including ever increasing amount of sex and violence in their movies to meet the demands of consumers. Although it might seem like a good idea to give what consumers what, many countries censorship boards are imposing bans on movies and films that they deem to be too violent or sexualised for distribution. For example, China has a very strict standards on what they deem to be suitable for viewing and have been known to completely shut out movies even if the movies are the most anticipated blockbusters of the year. Film studios are wary of this and increasingly smarter and adherent to filming ethical standards for fear of missing out on capturing the China market, which will severely put a dent on their balance sheets.

Although it can be argued that companies will see a marked increase in profit by resorting to unethical standards of practice, but surely it cannot be sustainable. A fishing company can increase their profit by not investing in environmentally friendly equipments and continue using nets which indiscriminately catch all kinds of fish to be sold to the market. However, this practice will destroy fish stocks and in the extreme case the fish population might go extinct in the future. The very commodity that the company so heavily rely on will be gone and so too will the company.

As a conclusion, we see that companies might see an increase in profits by resorting to unethical strategy. However, companies can only get away with so much and the tides will soon turn against their favour and the profits that they have been reaping will soon be gone.