The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Youths has been always considered the future building blocks of a nation. Hence, the society tried to mould into fine individuals but today's youth are exposed to a rife of deleterious distractions that they tend to deviate from what is actually expected from them. There is no doubt that there is a small percentage of them who still grew up to be the ideal individual but the rest of the youth indulge themselves into various unhealthy as well as unethical situations.

In almost all the immoral happenings, including drinking, smoking, taking drugs etc youths are involved. Drugs smuggling, abuse, riots etc are given catalysed by youths only. Internet was expected to be the storehouse of information but none has ever mentioned, good or bad but youths are generally found to be searching mostly the bad thing, drugs, bomb-making, sex etc. Some had even indulged themselves with many illegal things over the internet. so today's youth no more hold the pride to be called as the key to the society.

secondly, it is important to focus on the matter that, youths are easily attracted toward other, according to them superior, cultures, practices etc. for example in India, most of the youths try to shape themselves according to the western culture and end up generating something else. They try to emulate the western dressing, western lifestyle etc, but due to lack of proper exposure and society make them look inferior. Hence youths cannot be analysed to get the proper understanding of the contemporary culture.

One may argue that in western culture youths are the most effective way to understand the contemporary culture. In that regard, what about today's teenage problems? which include drinking, fighting, making clamor, drugs, road accidents. It seems as if youth started liking unwanted things and breaking rules resulting in stress among parents, family, and neighbours, pain for the police hospitalisations, destruction of property, reckless driving etc.

To sum up, today's youth have forgotten their age-old tradition and culture. They have even indulged themselves in various crimes. They even do not know exactly how to cook their traditional foods. Therefore the trend of the youth in today's time in not the accurate way to understand the contemporary culture.