In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

The issue statement says that imagination is more important than knowledge in most of the professions and academic fields. However i completely disagree to this view point. The reasons for my incongruence are described below :

First of all, knowledge is the penultimate thing required in every field. Without knowledege you can't succeed in any field. Although imagination is also needed alongwith the knowledge. First of all what is knowledge? It is the necessary information required to succeed in a particular field. It is like the same what is fuel for the machinery i.e. if you consider a profession a machinery like car than knowledge is like fuel to it, without fuel a car can't move. Consider the case of Aeronautical science, in NASA various scientists imagined to go to Mars, even a Quotidian person can imagine in going to Mars too but without the cognition of physics how can you achieve that? for knowledge education is must which we can get only from academics. That can be achieved only when you know the basic principles of science then only you will be able to land your rocket on Mars. So, Knowledge is must in every field.

Secondly, Imagination is required when you want to achieve something innovative in a particular field. Athough knowledge is the culmination point but without imagination you can't achieve something new. For instance take the case of Aeroplanes, earlier people itinerate from one place to another via foot or long distances through ships. Then, Waener brothers thought of inventing aeroplanes and see the result. In today's scenario airways are the second most used way of transport after Railways and it is the fastest mode of transport. So, to imagination and knowledge go hand in hand, without imagination how can you think of something new and without knowledge how can you craft your imagination into a practical thing.

Lastly, imagination is the perception someone has about something. Consider the case of TATA, now the mangers or owners of the comany thought of making cars that can fly too. But this can be made pragmatic only when the engineers have the knowledge, power and skills. In inventing new crops too, one must have the knowledge of breding methods, DNA sequencing etc.

So, at last i would like to say that although in any field imagination is needed but Knowledege is the foremost requirement to succeed in any field.