In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker seems to give more importance to imagination than to knowledge, which i don't agree to. Imagination although a great ability of an individual, will remain incomplete without the knowledge. Moreover, knowledge serves as a base for stimulating imagination and only with the knowledge one will know how to imagine a feasible thing. Imagining a random thing which wont come true is an utter waste of time.

In any professions and academic field imagination and knowledge should go hand in hand to lead to any new inventions.For example, any space agency may it be NASA or ISRO- the scientists in this profession should have a good imagination power so as to think what satellites can be put into space for welfare of the people or to study about the other planets, but this will come true only when there is a good knowledge in space science. The scientist in this field should be well informed about the situation in the space, the science behind launching a satellite or a rocket so as to establish the new idea or an imagination. a good example of how knowledge is important to stimulate imagination is the discovery of DNA structure by Francis crick, it is said that he discovered the structure of the DNA in his dream/ imagination but without the scientific knowledge of the elements in DNA i.e, the nucleic acids and how they bind to each other, he would have failed in proving this imaginary structure.

Another good example is in the field of art where imagination is a crucial thing and any successful artist owes his or her success to the imagination or creativity they have, but often they fail to recognize that the knowledge they attained from their past experience helped them in attaining their success, its good that the artist is creative or have a good imagination power but without the knowledge of which paint or which brush will help in bringing out his/ her imagination clearly and which form of art whether a portrait or an abstract form of painting will better reveal his beautiful thoughts, the imagination will be of waste.

Thus to conclude, the author's perception that imagination is more important than knowledge is not amenable, as knowledge is more important in bringing out the imagination to reality without which the imagination will remain only in the dreams of the professionals.