A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum is one of the most important aspect to look after for shaping the educational system. I agree to some extent with the author that the government should require all the schools to teach the same curriculum until the college level.

If the government enforces to teach same curriculum this will ensure that all students will receive the same level of education which is very difficult otherwise. As this will ensure that students in remote places will also receive education same as the students from urban cities. For instance everyone will be taught computer education. This will furthur help the students with less resources to compete with the students having myriad of resources.

A national curriculum will also help in setting up a common entrance exam for all the students.And students can henceforth choose their majors in college. A national curriculum will also ensure that students can study their desired branch and will not have to worry if they will get their desired branch in college due to cut offs being high. This will help the impoverished class of students to uplift themselves.

Though it might be that not all the state governments will be able to provide the same level of education to all its students due to lack of resources and might get burdened by this. So, before impelementing a national curriculum the government should make sure that all its states have sufficient resources for implemeting the common curriculum. Also, having a common national curriculum may not be good at times as a curriculum must include regional languages as to make sure the cultural integrity is not lost which is not possible in a national curriculum. So, the states might need to make some changes to the curriculum. Finally, a national curriculum does not mean that we force students not to study subjects they are interested in as different students may have different interests. Thus, the schools must provide the students with all the resources they need.

In sum, i agree to the author's notion that a nation should have a national curriculum but there are some things that might have to be added as to the requirements of the students.