A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is often said to be the key in moulding the future of a nation. A nation's leaders of tomorrow are more often than not groomed in home soil - a product of today's educational policies. In most developed countries, the nature of a nation's curricula is always a hot and passionate topic, mostly because virtually everyone have been through the system and have first-hand accounts to relate to. In the last century, national schooling in most countries has been confined to a unilateral system, where all students are taught the same things, take the same subjects and are evaluated based on the same skills, mostly on the humanities and sciences.

Education in the 21st century, however, is beginning to change. Some countries have deviated from this model and have developed a more holistic approach: offering different currciulas which students can either choose based on interest or ability. In this day and age of an increasingly diverse, volatile global landscape, it is insufficient to just have a 'one size fits all' approach in education. Education is not just a means to become a learned, knowledgeable individual, it is also a tool for survivability. Structural changes and blips in economy are becoming more frequent than in the past, people need to learn early to adapt fast enough. By committing a whole generation of students to a single curricula and neglecting the importance of having a diversified workforce is tantamount to a national economic suicide. China, for example, has a unilateral national curriculum, where

Identifying a child's strengths and passion early and encouraging it is also important in the character building and self-esteem. Many students who are unable to show their talents through paper exams suffer in these systems. Students who have a flair in a specific skill and talent that is not part of the curricula like the arts and sports often sidelined in such systems, their potential untapped and talents wasted. Instead of focusing on what they ae good at, the system instead forces them to spend more effort - even much more than the average student, to fit and conform into the system. These childhood experiences of trying yet failing repeatedly can be traumatic. Not only do their untapped talents come to waste, many would also suffer a big blow to their self confidence which follows well in adulthood.

Many proponents of a unified curricula feel that a unilateral system fosters cohesion amongst students and is a level playing field for all, since regardless of wealth, race or religion, everyone receives the same education. No student in the system would be taught differently or given special training for additional skills. Every student have equal opportunities in learning. This, however, I feel is a misconception. Instead of leveling the playing field, a unilateral curriculum is very unfair, skewed towards those who have the natural ability in performing well in ways deemed by the system. Every child is born different in terms of ability, physical or mental. What matters most is performing poorly in a small set of skills is not reflective and indicative of a person's ability and value in society as a whole.

Education systems should thrive in tapping the potential and talents of the young, and at the same time, encourage character building and inculcating moral values. Having a unified curriculum discourages that. Many talented sportsmen, dancers, artists, musicians all have specialised training from young. Ballerinas in particular, are trained from a very young age. Take Misty Copeland, the Principal ballerina from the American Ballet Company, for example. If she was not pluck off from school at 10 to be home-schooled, so she has more time to hone her techniques, she would never have become what she is today.