A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A national curriculum is a common program of study in schools that is designed to ensure nationwide uniformity of content and standards in education. Education is an important part of one's life and it is required that students get proper education before they enter college. The statement proposes whether the same national curriculum should be studied by all the students in a nation until they enter college or not. Some people argue that the same national curriculum will lead to damage each region’s unique commercial and cultural identities. However, because the positive impact when following the national curriculum outweighed the negative impact, I agree with this statement.

Firstly, curriculum should keep a high standard structure because it should be prepared and examined by a group of experts in every subject. Then a nation can maintain their education level in a same level. As a result, it is easy to conduct the general examinations all over the country. Then, with by these examinations’ results, school and each student their self can evaluate their education level with other students with same category. This evaluation would help to the Universities and Colleges to intake proper students to proper courses such as Engineering, Medicine, Computing, vocational courses and etc. For instance, In Sri Lanka, the entire student should study same curriculum until their 16 years old, then based on general exam result and parents and student’s wishes, they can choose their favorite stream from mathematics, bio, commerce or art for their secondary education. Again, the students from each stream should follow the same curriculum for that particular subject. Then, based on their performance in the second general exam, they will divide to different Universities and colleges for different courses. Therefore, if the policy would implement, the consequences would be good for universities and students.

Secondly, it is more convenience for parents and teachers. Because of any personal reasons or change of working place, people need to move from one place to another. Consequently, students also need to move from one school to another because most parents doesn’t like leave their child to be alone from a long distance. These wouldn’t affect that student’s education because all schools follow same curriculum. Teachers are also no need to do extra effort to make familiar to the subject where they join to new school. Moreover, Teaches can transfer from one school to another because they do not need to prepare for new syllabus. For instance, In USA, if a student wants to transfer from a school of one state to another state’s school, need to fulfill certain requirements to meet their education structure. Further, they can move in particular grades such as only in grade 9 or 11. So, in an urgent situation, it would affect the student’s education. Therefore, if the policy would implement, the consequences would be good for students, parents and as well as teachers too.

In conclusion, a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. If the policy would implement, the consequences would be good for University, colleges, schools, teachers, students and parents. Therefore I agree with the statement.