A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial question of whether all the students in each country should follow the same national curriculum. Indisputably, there is some fundamental knowledge which every student should acquire. Nevertheless, the way in which this knowledge can be acquired can be much different. I would generally say there should exist an individual study plan for every student.

First of all, since everyone is different, if everyone studies the same in the same way, while some of the students will find the study plan fits their needs, others will find any sense on what they are studying. This is not fair for the students who feel the plan has nothing to do with they would like to learn. They will become unmotivated and lose their interest in school. Some students may not be prepared to learn some subjects, while being already ready for others. For instance, if some student is learning about the history of Portugal but does not live in the capital city, may not understand where are some of the places involved in the history. This happens because the student may not have yet visited Lisbon. However, this student may be much more prepared to learn biology because he may live in the countryside surrounded by many animals and plants. For this student, learning history too early will prevent the student to really understand fundamental aspects of history. In addtion, if biology is not included in the curriculum for the year when the student is interested, the student may not have the oportunity to really understand biology.

Secondly, preventing students from studying what they really like inhibit them from understanding what their passions are. Consequently, they will find more difficult to find their paths.

Lastly, human being depends on each others specializations to survive. Thus, it does not make much sense everyone to learn the same. People should learn different things the better they can, instead of learning all the same but imperfectly.

In conclusion, while there are some fundamental knowledge that every student should know, this knowledge should be acquired when it makes sense for each student, instead of following a national curriculum equal for everyone. Following a differentiated curriculum will make students more motivated and better in their areas of specialization.