A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

While on the surface it my seem that if the government enforces the same curriculum for the entire nation's schools, it may be easier for the colleges to adopt a more uniform and common curriculum without catering to the needs of the students with a slightly different curriculum, this notion is rife with assumptions and is inadequate with regard to its course of action.

One must consider the size of a nation and it's various cultures emboiled in a rich pot of it's heritage before taking any such rash decisions. The students mustn't be made to feel alienated from their culture and instead be taught to embrace their heritage and where they come from, so they don't lose their identity down the generations. While it is obvious that even though it is up to a child on whether to embrace a culture or not, it is not up to the government to strip students of the opportunity to even do so. A curriculum should have content embracing all cultures, foreign and national alike but not at the expense of the local culture, indigenous to a place, as beauty lies not in the herd mentality, rather in individualism.

Also, parents must be given the opton of whether to put their children through strenous curriculum to prepare them better for the entrance exams of prestigious institutions after high school or a more standard curriculum.which is better designed to the natural age of a student withhout pressuring them beyond their years, and it is up to the parents to decide what would be best for their particular ward, rather than the government deciding for them.

Giving no options to students on languages they want to learn is another feature of this prospective decision. Although the availability and quality of the relevant faculty is an issue that must be addressed by the school, stripping the student of the opportunity of learning a different language despite availability of faculty would be a real shame which would've helped them later in life.

While some courses in the curriculum like Math, English etc may be standardized it also boils down to the availability of quality faculty and the quantity of the faculty as well if it is a large school. Standardizing such courses prove to be a stepping stone to students, regardless of what stream they take later in life.

Most colleges now do teach relevant courses in their classes to help new students get up to speed with the academic standards of the institution and so, depriving students of so many wonderful oportunities to avoid becoming just another brick in the world seems a selfish decision taken by the government and would be better to not go through with this decision as it offers not many benefits to the colleges (apart from removal of the orientation courses) or students, or the nation as a whole which would be churning out zombies with the same capabilities as the next.