A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The task of educating a country's youth is certainly of upmost importance. Children grow up to become society's political leaders, law enforcement, and doctors. Thus, a nation should rightfully focus on developing an adequate curriculm for all students. Because of future implications, schools should follow a national curriculum as opposed to one developed by the individual state.

A national curriculum standardizes a country's education. Students living in a poverty-stricken town will learn about the same topics as those from a wealthy city. This equality in education ensures that all kids will enter college with the same foundational knowledge. Therefore, every child has the same chance of succeeding during this next phase in his or her education. Consider the case of two students: one from the city and the other from the country. Without a national curriculum, the country boy may learn only about technical skills such as farming while the city child may receive a more well-rounded education ranging from history to math to art. However, the standardized system ensures that each school will expose both these children to the same fundamental topics.

Expanding on the standardization, a national curriculum allows students to experience various subjects before pursuing their interests in college. The engineering school must also cover subjects that were previously not offered to its students, such as music or government. Likewise, the art school will expose its students to technical math and science skills. This type of education gives students the ability to fully realize their passions and interests, which they can then freely pursue in college.