A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I think that it would be suitable to divide the whole studying period of a student into two different parts. The first part consists of all the years students are at school and has not entered college yet; and the second part is when students start their college or university studies. Now, the natural question is whether all the students of the same nationality should require studying the same national curriculum during the first part of their studies.

The first point I would like to mention is that all students need to have some basic knowledge before they enter college. Most of the time, such elementary knowledge is the same not only for the students of the same nationality, but also for the students from different nations. Examples of these kinds of elementary lessons are the basic Math, Chemistry, Physics, or generally the basic principles of sciences. These basic principles are required for all students all over the world before they enter college; and thus, must be included in their curriculum in the first part of the students’ studies. In addition, there is another type of curriculum which is different from one nation to another. An example of this type of lessons is the history. All students of the same nationality should gain some knowledge about the history of their own nation and it is not incumbent upon them to study the history of other nations in details. Therefore, these specific types of lessons should be added to the curriculum of the students before they enter college so that all of the students of a nation have the same understanding about not only the basic principles of sciences but also about the history of their nation, their religions, their traditions and so on.

In spite of the fact that all students require to expand their grasp of general knowledge during the first part of their studies, I think it is not a good idea to force students to get knowledge in a specific field of study. I mean, students of the same nation should be taught the same curriculum before they enter college so that all of them reach the same level of knowledge about what everybody should know in general; and then, after entering college, students can follow their interests. Moreover, if students of the same nation have not studied the same curriculum there would be a kind of chaos all over that nation’s educational system and the schools would not be consistent to each other. Consequently, this will cause several problems throughout that national educational system. For instance, if one student wants to move to another school, which is very common among students, and continue his studies in a new one, he would need to start the school from the beginning since he has studied a different curriculum in his former school. So, in order to prevent such problems, all of the students should be taught the same curriculum before they enter college.

The conclusion one might reach after this set of reasoning is that all of the students of the same nationality need to learn the general sciences and the requisites of their nation before entering college so that they gain the elementary and necessary knowledge within this period of their studies. In addition, this will help the educational system of each nation to be more consistent and avoid subsequent problems that may occur.