A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In today's highly competitive world all the students of the nation have to be provided with the same curriculum till they enter the college life. This would help in creating the common platform for all the students across the nation where they can be compared with each other. This would also be helpful to conduct some competitions so that all the students from the nation could participate.

Let us consider an example of India where an exam named JEE-MAINS is conducted nationwide to admit the students into the most prestigious colleges in the country. This exam serves as a common platform for the selection of the students. The government of Indian has prescribed certain curriculum to be followed and the test makes also follow the same curriculum. Therefore it is mandatory for all the students to study the same curriculum if they would like to give the test. These are some regions which have their own curriculum that is being taught to the students of that region. This poses the difficulty to the students as they have to study both the curriculums. Instead if the curriculum had been nationalised then this problem would have been eradicated and the students would be referring the same curriculum throughout.

Additionally, let us consider the example of a student going to school. If different regions would have followed different curriculums then, it would have been difficult for that student to get accustomed to the change in curriculum, whenever he changes from one region to the other. It is also quite possible that some regions may have a rigorous curriculum whereas some may not. If the student changes between such a curriculum then it would be difficult for him to cope up with the remaining students.

All in all the curriculum throughout the nation has to be made common so that the students could be placed on the same platform. It could also serve as a source to evaluate each and every student of the nation individually and they could be trained further so that they could be useful to the country.