A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation that students should be required to study the same educational curriculum nationally until they enter college is extreme and needs to be examined further. I do not agree with this recommendation, as there are various problems that may arise if such a system is implemented.

Firstly, the implementation of a standardized national curriculum up until college would ensure the same level teaching everywhere, however, the mental abilities of students are different and may not be adequately represented. Such as, a student who is very good at history and sports may not be able to compete with a student who is very good at mathematics and science if the national curriculum is majorly mathematical. One uniform national syllabus will misrepresent the mental abilities of most individual students.

Second, the recommendation holds major disadvantages for students who are differently abled. If a student with a mental disability, such as dyslexia, is made to study the same syllabus as a normal student, the differently abled student is at a major disadvantage. The curriculum should be more inclusive for these students as well.

Another problem is that the students will not be adequately prepared to choose and study their courses in college. If the national curriculum is made up of subjects such as Science, Mathematics, and History, a student willing to study foreign languages may not be able to properly gauge his interest in the subject. Also, in college students need to undertake courses over a variety of subjects, for which the students will be totally unprepared. This is because they are not used to studying a variety of subjects from various fields due to a lacking standard national curriculum.

A support to the argument may be that the curriculum will ensure the same level of teaching everywhere, however, even if the same educational curriculum is followed nationally, the curriculum will differ at a global level. The students in a country, such as Nigeria, will not necessarily be studying the same curriculum as the students in developed countries such as the USA. This will create a cultural and global border and also prevent the emergence of global citizens.

Thus this recommendation cannot be implemented as such. It may be possible to implement it with solutions to the problems that may arise.