Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

During the last decade, our world had witnessed a great amount of deforestation paving way for growth of industries and for other commercial activities. But this is done at the expense of our environment degradation. And this human activity remains largely an unregulated one. So there is definitely a need for stringent laws that might help to preserve the remaining natural vegetation in the years to come.

Post Industrial Revolution, humans turned their focus on leading a comfortable life which led to the emergence of many industrial activities in different parts of the world. Starting from building dams, laying roads to building high tech cities, our world has changed so much that it is now incomparable with that during pre-historic times. Though, this seemed like a giant leap for mankind, this activity took its toll on our environment. Our world has lost at least 50% of its natural vegetation in the last decade. There had been instances where wild animals entering the human habitat thereby killing people. What concludes these events is that, we on the verge of irreversible environmental degradation. To ameliorate this situation, governments of various nations should take an immediate action to pass laws to avoid further degradation of our environment.

The reasons that led to the deforestation of some of the wild forests of the world includes alarming increase in population growth, overgrazing, River valley projects, Transmission Lines & Roads , turning our forests into farmlands to feed our population, need for forest based products in our day-to-day life which includes furniture, paper which has their raw materials taken from forest. Though the industries are thriving , there are no regulations to check these industries from making an optimum use of natural resources of forest. There is an urgent need to develop appropriate management strategies exists to reduce pressure; promote sustainable use of remaining natural forests. This could be achieved only by the intervention of the respective governments of the nations to pass stringent laws to preserve it.

Finally, it is made clear that, preservation of the remaining natural vegetation is only in the hands of the governments and it would remain as their duty to preserve it for the generations to come.