Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state

In a world where many people find themselves surrounded by endless skyscrapers and cement, it is important for a nation's government to pass laws to preserve wilderness. Though it may cause the government to spend more to fund such laws, there are ways for this land to bring in revenue to support itself. These laws will have a positive influence on our nation for many reasons.

By preserving the wilderness in its natural state, this ensures the preservation of wildlife occupying the area. Both land and animals are inversely reliant on each other. For example, if the land was not preserved, corporations could inhabit the land polluting the ground or any river nearby. This pollution would have a detrimental effect on the wildlife such as fish that reproduce in that area or any animals that live off the plants surrounding the river. Providing a safe, clean environment not only for animals but for people as well will ensure revenues for the government and local businesses.

Many people who live within city limits will venture out towards the wilderness to escape the hassles of everyday life. For example, the Grand Canyon National Park and Yellowstone Nation Park receive millions of visitors each year. With this, the government can bring in tourists to camp or rent cabins to stay in during their visit. Not only will the government see the benefits, but local businesses will prosper as well. The local residents will also enjoy many leisure activities provided by the preserved wilderness.

Reservations or parks are among the few explorations that everyday people can experience without spending too much money. Locals around the preserved wilderness can take advantage of having pristine land accessible in minutes. For example, many people who live in a rural environment enjoy activities such as riding bikes, hiking, camping, mountain climbing, and fishing. Without preserved land, locals could not enjoy many of these pleasures.

For the reasons stated above, a nation’s government should pass laws that to keep wilderness in their natural state.