Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

It is in the modern world that the idea of preserving wilderness areas loom so large and has becoming more and more manifest. Surely, nowadays the numbers of wilderness areas are declining drastically with the double-pressure of both economic development and population expansion. For example, nearly more than half of the virgin forests on earth have disappeared, and thirty percent of them have been destroyed and have degraded, even the rest is in a worrying situation if not protecting. Therefore, it is important and imperative for humans to preserve the remaining wilderness areas — protecting nature is to protect ourselves.

As it is known, the devastation of wilderness areas will result in all kinds of natural catastrophe like flood, sandstorm, drought, and, most importantly, destroy the survival environment of human beings. In recent years, the exploitation of wilderness areas has become faster and faster in order to meet the necessity of economic growth and population expansion. At the same time, natural disaster happens more and more frequently. For instance, Chinese wetland (10% of the world’s wetland, ranking fourth in the world) is degrading year by year with the ever-increasing economic need, and actually facing a hopeless situation owing to unfavorable and polluted environmental conditions. However, as the ecological system, wetland plays a large number of roles in environment such as water purification, reservoirs of biodiversity, climate change, etc.

When it comes to maintaining biodiversity, it seems that there is no substitute for wilderness areas. According to a report from the BBC news, an international team of researchers analyzed more than 100 existing studies comparing wildlife in forests that had been modified and those that had not, showing that wildlife like birds, mammals does much better in virgin tracts. Their another study showed that wilderness areas result in higher benefits to biodiversity. Those changes ranged in severity from complete clearance for agriculture, through plantations and agroforestry, to selectively logged forests where only certain types of tree had been extracted. In all but the selectively logged areas, the impact on biodiversity was marked, the variety of plants and animals was depleted more severely than the sheer number of organisms present. In an article 'assessing forest integrity and naturalness in relation to biodiversity'. Moreover, some experts calculate that if present trends of wildlife losses and habitat destruction continue, at least 30 percent of the world’s wild plants and animals could be extinct or vastly reduced in number in the near future. Globally, food insecurity and poverty are often found where biodiversity loss is especially pronounced, as well as in some of the more remote areas of richest remaining biodiversity. Meanwhile, human activities like mining, logging, ranching, are destroying these wilderness areas which are the precious habitats for all animals and plants and other species, and, eventually, ruin the survival circumstance of human beings themselves.

Wilderness areas are vital for the human spirit and creativity, and wilderness is deeply valued for cultural, spiritual, moral, and aesthetic reasons. Firstly, looked at through the lens of the visual arts, wildness has been important subjects in various epochs of world history. In Tang Dynasty of the Chinese history, an early tradition of landscape art occurred. Artists have learned to depict mountains and rivers “from the perspective of nature as a whole and on the basis of their understanding of the laws of nature… as if seen through the eyes of a bird.” Wilderness, with breathtaking scenic backdrops, for instance, cape york, where is one of the few untrammeled wilderness areas in molder world, becomes a massive flood plain as rivers and streams break their banks and blend into each other, leaving isolated islands of high ground on which the wildlife finds shelter. A array of lush greens, crystal clear creeks with tsunami waterfalls and vistas that would soften the hard heart. Furthermore, primary forest like Amazon, provide a great deal of oxygen, only the vegetation in the rainforest produces nearly 20% of the oxygen needed around the world! In china, fog and haze has become the predominant hazardous killer of people health, where, if there would be a large tracts of primary forests, would become better and the air pollution would be declining, because the forest produces oxygen and can carbon fixation.

However, there are also some wilderness areas like deserts, as far as I am concerned, these areas can be modified and utilized through the application of science and technology. On the whole, as a nature lover, I hope that humans can realize the importance of the wilderness areas, and all nations in the world can promulgate laws to protect the few remaining wilder areas. Although there have been a specific legal of wilderness act in the wealthier, industrialized nations like the united states, Australia, Canada, the same law is non-existent in a large number of nations, such as china, which is the fastest development in the world. All nations in the globe join hands to protect the sole planet on where we survive.