Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning f

Art, generally, is one of the major branches of a nation’s culture, the collection of beliefs, and base on which people confirm their identity through linking people to its history and origin. Despite it being an essential part that upholds the value of society, it is debatable whether governments should fund the arts. In some circumstances, government funding for the arts can do harm more than good, especially when a substantial number of their citizens are hungry or unemployed. However, I mostly agree with the recommendation since governmental funding for the arts can reap not only economic benefits but also social ones under economic crisis the nation is facing.

Admittedly, there exist some cases where the recommendation that nations should suspend government funding for the arts is valid. For example, during the Socialist Realism era, any medium of art in the Soviet Union was forced to adhere to the Communist doctrine. Basically, art was exploited as a powerful propaganda tool, and the most distinguished painters during this time were those who placed Stalin on a pedestal. Art was not a channel of free expression by artists. It began to defeat the purpose of art when it was funded by the communist government. Public resources were not dispensed properly to remedy societal ills the nation was facing at that time, rather, only for the sake of upholding the regime and its doctrines. As in this case, when the government is responsible for their hungry citizens, funding for the arts may as well be suspended.

Despite the particular case above, in times of economic crisis, government funding for the arts should be fostered for both economic and social benefits, contrary to what’s stated in the recommendation. The funding by government can create a wide array of job opportunities for the unemployed, thus helping them to sustain their livelihood. To illustrate, during the advent of the Great Depression when thousands of banks went bankrupt, and unemployment increased from 4% to 25%, with no national safety net and no public unemployment insurance system, the U.S. government led by Franklin D. Roosevelt had to address such a historical disastrous economic downturn with liberal fiscal stimulus. The Federal Art Project, a part of his New Deal program, guided by the Works Progress Administration, recruited many artists to work on public artworks all over the country during the time. It turned out to be an effective solution to unemployment problem as it helped many jobless artists to pull through the hard time by assigning them public art projects to carry out.

In addition to providing basic job opportunities for artists, the scope of benefits the public art funding yield is not limited to artist groups. “Migrant Mother”, which is deemed as an icon of the Great Depression, could not have come out into the world if the photographer Dorothea Lange weren’t hired by the government through the program. It depicts hardship, pain, and suffering through the eyes of a struggling woman, which helped to inform people of the adverse conditions of the economic depression. Indeed, the WPA project was conducive to preserving a national history and culture by recording local folk songs and keeping people up with the past they could have known nothing about by interviewing former slaves in the South. As in this compelling example, a public art funding is full of potential values that can add up to a nation.

Therefore, even when significant numbers of their citizens are impoverished or out of work, it is vital to continue government funding for the arts. Government should invest in the arts, which will be advantageous to alleviating economic hardships and social growth.