No field of study can advance significantly unless outsiders bring their knowledge and experience to that field of study.

It is all transparent that each field of study was at first devoid of any significant contribution until some experts specialized in that major did their best in order to bring about discoveries as well as developments. After a certain time, the number of experts grows and reaches to a certain level that any small contribution would be helpful. A question, which is a matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether outsiders are capable of creating important developments in a field. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I disagree with this statement. Using following reasons would, I try to discuss this issue more widely.

As mentioned in the introduction above, scientists of all fields share their knowledge to create promising advancements by collaboration. However, in some majors, the amount of cooperative scientists may be lower due to the lack of evidence which prove their theories that later lead to a great achievement. In addition, their filed may require the knowledge of other majors. Outsiders, though unlikely to do research on another field, might assist the scientists to make their previous achievements more applicable. To delineate, consider researchers of interdisciplinary subjects who are obligated to work on a mixture of fields. Bioinformatics experts , who combine computer science with medicine, are capable of supervising projects involving both majors. As a result, as an outsider to the field of computer science, bioinformatics experts can design expert systems that automatically predict the success of a specific surgery using genes of several patients. Computer engineers may consider it hard to design such system but they have to admit that collaboration with other related fields would be prominent for their major.

The other issue that requires a meticulous attention is that, although some outsiders can improve their fields, the insiders have more in-depth insight into their fields. The bioinformatics experts that I mentioned above can illustrate this issue. Often do the scholars of an interdisciplinary field gain knowledge of each sub-subject in less detail and depth. Going into the depth, they may be helpful in some cases but if a project faced with a serious flaw, they may not be able to fix it as well as the experts of that filed, who are in this example computer engineers. Simply stated, the outsiders are rarely considered to be the main contributors to a specific field.

It should be highlighted that the evidence demonstrates that the number of outsiders who caused a great achievement in a field are far less that the ideal number. This is mainly due to the competitions between individuals of a specific field who tend to compare their discoveries with each other and further show their superiority. In an ideal academic society, various departments should collaborate with each other and criticize each other to improve the overall academic level. Though this statement seems unreachable, it would be perfect if similar fields could obviate their deficiencies.

In sum, although some people hold the other side, as far as I am concerned, insiders can achieve remarkable success if they cooperate with each other. The inevitable competence as well as the in-depth knowledge of experts impede the collaboration of insiders and outsiders though unlikely.