“One should not expect respect for disregarding the opinions of others. Only when every point of view is taken into

consideration should people take action in the world.”

The speaker's claim is actually two fold: (1) Respect is not to be expected proper regard to the opinion of others is not given (2) Action is to be taken only after considering every point of view. However, I do not completely agree with the speaker on both claims.

Democracy can be viewed as the best example where the views and opinions of the people are considered before taking necessary action. Hence,it is natural to assume that the leader of the largest democratic country, India would receive immense respect and eulogy. However, the leaders are prone to criticism due to drawbacks that comes with a democracy. Consider the stray dog issue faced by the people of Kerala, a state in India. This issue is debated at a large scale and is celebrated by the media. The result of these debates are a plethora of opinions and even though immediate action is required, this action is delayed due to inability to arrive at a solution acceptable to everyone. When in a critical situation such as this, wasting crucial time on accessing the opinion of others is redundant.

Expecting respect while disregarding the opinion of others is not justifiable. This is much seen in the context of parenting. Nowadays, parents tend to fulfill their dreams and wishes through their children without considering the stance of their children. This can cultivate a rebellious nature in the children and reduce the esteem of the parents in the eyes of children. A stronger example can be taken from history. The dictatorship rule of Hitler is widely disrespected even today.

However, respect is not a given even after considering all perspectives. This can be explained by the fact that the decisions reached after considering viewpoints might be more favourable to some than others. This causes displeasure and unrest among the disregarded people and may lead to loss of respect for the decision maker. It is also possible that disregarding opinions can earn respect at a later stage. One eminent personality who disregarded the common opinion of others would be Mahatma Gandhi. His view of non-violence disregarded the mechanisms extant in the society then. Though disregarded initially, it was held in esteem later on globally.

In conclusion, considering all perspectives is not necessary in all situations. Also, respect is not a guarantee even after looking into all possibilities. However, in some unique cases, a disregard of common opinions might cultivate respect.