Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

I believe that base of the pyramid is the most important part because it supports all the structure above it. Similarly, some unique idea is essential part for other innovations to happen. In a nutshell, it can be said that originality can be derived from old ideas or it can be something that is never thought and made by anyone. Single definition cannot encompass all the meanings of originality. I will provide some examples to advocate my definition of originality and will shed more light on this topic in the passage below.

In my opinion, originality also means unwrapping some mystery and coming up with unique thoughts. Let me embellish this point. As we all know that how satellites are revolutionizing the technological world around us. Rocket propulsion is the main part of satellite launching procedure and it is not merely an amalgam of some ideas put together in some fashionable form. It can be said that it is something new and innovative. Hence, I believe that coming up with new stuff also constitutes as an originality.

We can also see example of Facebook and other social networks. These ideas aptly fits into the definition of originality mentioned in the statement as it can said that Facebook is just a old idea in new form. There was existing idea of social network which helped in development of these new websites. Hence, it is irrefutable that novel ideas are required for further development and innovation. This supports my definition of originality: coming up with completely new ideas.

In addition to the above mentioned examples, I believe that there are other places where humankind came up with new things by not just putting some stuff together in a cutting edge way. These were real, path-breaking things, these were not just mixture of some old ideas. Everyone knows about internet, It is the most important part of our life. Internet in its raw form was invented by DARPA as ARPANET for military purpose, but nowadays, everyone is using a modified version of that invention. This present state of internet is derived from old idea came up by DARPA. DARPA's idea is the base and was entirely novel and is a true original stuff.

It is apparent by now that originality can be using old ideas and coming putting them differently or coming up with new groundbreaking things. I disagree with the definition of Originality mentioned in the statement give in the question.