Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Like base of the pyramid supports all the structure above it, similarly originality is required for supporting the other ideas.

It can't be said that originality is just putting old ideas together. If, there are no new ideas, then there won't be a base to support other inventions. I will support my this conviction that originality is just not putting old ideas together in new ways, it also means coming up with new and innovative ideas and something that's is not merely putting old ideas together.

Everyone knows about satellites, how satellites are helping to revolutionize the technological world and society and humankind. It is true that satellites launching procedure is amalgam of different technologies such as rocket propulsion, advancement of materials which can sustain high temperatures, etc. Is satellite launch procedure a invention ? Yes, it is. But can we say that satellite launch invention would have been possible without all the advancement and innovations mentioned above? No, that's is not true. Rocket propulsion is the core of Satellite launch operation, rocket propulsion is a true innovation and is not merely a putting old ideas together. Rocket propulsion was actually invented during World War 1. Yes, it was invented for launching weapons, but eventually it is currently used for launching satellites. This wouldn't have been possible without actually new invention of rocket propulsion. So, yes, true inventions are required to make new inventions in future. But just putting old ideas together is not the only definition of an Originality.

Secondly, everyone knows about internet, we use it daily more than anything else. Internet was invented was DARPA, a military research organization of USA. It was invented for a totally different purpose. It was invented for communication between different branches and the army personals. This was a new thing, a completely new invention. This is a original invention which lead to the development of internet. Internet development wouldn't have been possible without DARPA developing it. So, Originality does mean developing new things also, it is not just taking some old ideas and putting them together and come up with new stuff.

In some countries, Railway is the lifeline of the connectivity. Could railways have developed without development of engine technology ? No, not at all. Railway development was possible because of engine and other related technologies development. These base technologies were required to develop the railways. Yes, railway is also an invention, but it wouldn't have been possible without invention of true ideas, something unique, never thought before and something which is just not putting old ideas together.

So, originality doesn't only mean putting old ideas together. Originality also means, developing something new and something that is never though before and something that is just not like a lego game.