Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

The base of the pyramid supports all the structure above it, similarly some unique, never thought before idea is required for supporting the other innovations. We cannot say that originality is just putting old ideas together. New ideas are essential to support other inventions and ideas. I will provide some examples and will shed more light on this topic in the passage below.

In my opinion, originality also means unwrapping innovative things and coming up with unique thoughts. Everyone knows about satellites and how they are helping to revolutionize the technological world, society, and humankind around us. Rocket propulsion is the main part of Satellites launching procedure and is not an originality according to the definition mentioned in the statement. But, Rocket propulsion is not merely amalgam of some old ideas together, it is something that was never thought before. So, originality does include thinking something that was never thought before and also means coming up with something innovative things. Hence, new ideas are required to come up with other inventions in the future. But just putting old ideas together is not the only definition of an Originality.

Furthermore, we can see example of Facebook and other social networks. These correctly fit into the definition of originality mentioned in the statement as they just put old idea of AOL, etc. differently. But, there was existing original idea of social network that was developed by AOL which helped in development of other ideas. As, it is evident that new ideas are required for development of other ideas and originality also means thinking completely new things.

There are other places where humankind came up with new things by putting old ideas together, but these ideas were not merely developed by putting some stuff together in a cutting edge way. These were real, path-breaking ideas which helped in the development of other inventions. Everyone knows about internet, we use it daily more than anything else. It was invented by DARPA, a military research organization of USA and now we are using it for totally different purpose. As we can again see, internet was developed by putting old idea came up by DARPA, but DARPA's idea is the base and was entirely novel.

It is apparent by now that originality means putting some old ideas together in new way and also coming up with new groundbreaking things. I disagree with the definition of Originality mentioned in the statement give to me.