“People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.”

Are the powerful respected by people, when they exercise the power or refrain from exercising it? While some would assert that the powerful are respected when they exercise the power, others would state that it is when they refrain from exercising it, they are venerated. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that it is only when the powerful exercise the power, they are respected because the powerful are deemed powerful only when they exercise it; of course, with the power being exercised on a righteous note.

Those that would argue in favor refraining from exercising the power might point to the Non-alignment movement by India or the retreat during Kargil war by India. Non-alignment movement as a move initiated by India from not taking sides of capitalist United States or communist Russia during the Cold War was welcomed by other developing and under developed countries that went on to join the movement. Even though India was respected then as a peace loving nation it was only by those countries that had similar perspective as India. Further, the retreat of Indian army from Pakistan during the Kargil war did bring respect among the world countries; although the respect by Indian people towards the government declined since India has been subject to several attacks by Pakistan since then. Thus, even though refraining from exercising power by the powerful may be respected by some people, it is exercising power that brings respect from the masses.

Now consider the exercising of power by the powerful. United States bombing on the states of Japan is surely one of the sheer exercises of the power. Even though it brought great devastation to Japan, it is what brought great respect for United States as the super power in the world. Japan attacked Pearl harbour of United States causing great casualties and agony among the people of United States. The retaliation attack by United States army with nuclear bombing on the Japanese states of Hiroshima and Nagasaki brought respect from people of United States and countries across the world. That kind of respect wouldn’t have come, had it refrained from exercising the power.

Like United States, India’s involvement in the Bangladesh Liberation war is an absolute exercise of the power. Bangladesh, then East Pakistan with a largely Bengali speaking population was undermined by Urdu speaking politicians of West Pakistan, which brought distress among the people of Bangladesh causing widespread protests and revolt for independence. With Bangladesh seeking India for help and Iarge in flow of refugees from Bangladesh to India, India exercised its power to liberate Bangladesh from Pakistan. This not only brought deep respect from people of Bangladesh and India but also from the world countries as the super power in South Asia and put India into limelight. Had India refrained from helping Bangladesh, it would have only raised question of whether India was indeed powerful.

Ultimately, it is clear that powerful is respected by people upon exercising the power not on refraining from exercising it. The United States attack on Japan and India’s involvement in Bangladesh Liberation war are both exceptional examples of exercising of power and it is these exercising that brought them the respect. If anything, the refrainment from exercise of power shall bring respect from only certain set of people who benefit from it.