As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to

think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your

position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and

explain how these considerations shape your position.

I agree to a large extent with the writer’s prophecy that the use of technology has reduced our ability to think for ourselves but there are certain aspects wherein I would like to differ.

The writer, here touches upon a issue very germane to the modern world, the use of technology in our daily life and its effects on our lives and lifestyle. The writer here fears that the we have become so reliant on technology that a day might come, wherein computers and machines will think for us and our ability to think for ourselves will diminish. The most common and pertinent example to give would be the use of calculators. This simple device has made complex calculations easier and has almost eliminated errors. Hence,our dependence on a calculator has increased so much that for even smallest of calculations , we tend to search for a calculator. The number tables which might have been at the tip of our tongues in our school days, would now require us a bit of time and effort to recollect those. A person continuously involved with calculations in his work, say a bank empoloyee, would find it hard to imagine him doing his work without a calculator. So, yes , in a sense, the calculator has diminished completely the task of manual calculations which required one to be good with numbers and tables.

Another machine which is used widely everywhere and which one can say , it thinks for humans is a computer.Let us consider a program wherein, all the knowledge and expertise of a person who has pioneering achievements in a particular field, can be stored in a computer, obviously with the consent of that person. Then that information can immensely help many a others who work in that particular field and may not be as knowledgeable. But ,at the same time, this might reduce the tendency of these people to think for themselves. They , for the simplest of problems, might just refer to the stored data and get their solutions and just not take the harder route of analysing and researching for themselves and thereby limit their abilities.

So, on the face of it, it seems that the technology is limiting our abilities yet on the other hand, I feel that it does not completely diminish our abilities. We might have the luxury of calculators,computers but we need the expertise and skill to use them as well. Also we need to use our thinking to reach to a point from where we have to use a calculator or a computer. To validate my point, let us assume a task wherein an investor needs to calculate the amount of money he will earn on a particular investment which involves compounding interests. For this purpose, the person needs to understand what is a compound interest and use the formulas and his knowledge to arrive at certain calculations, from where he can use the calculator to find the answer in a proper exact number. So, herein the technology is limiting our ability but not diminishing it completely. In the future, how much affect technology has on our thinking abilities will depend on our ways and methods of using it.

So, yes the writer’s foresight seems plausible to a greater extent but you cannot completely agree with what he says.