As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our entire world is shaped by modern technology.Everything that we use or implement has its roots in the technological progress made within the last 100 years.Technology has helped us to surpass the most daunting obstacles in our unrelenting thirst for knowledge.But at the same time I believe it has made us more dependent on our innovations. Emphatically speaking it has become the bane of the common man crippling his abilities to think and work by himself.Scientists and engineers have always strived to develop innovations which reduce the workload by automating tasks which previously had to be done by hand.I think automation has helped us by reduce the number of errors in the system and also increase the industrial output of a particular workstation. Also man has tried to automate the thinking process that goes into solving a problem by introducing new tools for solving mathematical and logistical problems. This I believe is the problem we are talking about and it is a considerable disadvantage conferred upon us by technology

Softwares for solving equations are just a few of the myriad of new improvements in technology within the last ten years. We have seen robots make their mark on the field of medical science and we now have apps to help us with most of our daily chores. Gadgets like cell phones tablets now assist us in finding locations and booking appointments even correcting emails to be sent to our colleagues. This hampers our natural instincts and we develop a blind dependence on technology. For instance while finding a particular location we use google earth or google maps. But these softwares may interfere with our previous knowledge about a particular locality and even overturn some previous ideas of short routes that we might have. Softwares for solving equations are another example. They solve sets of equations subject to certain boundary condiions without us having any idea of the solution procedures and the assumptions in the solution. These are examples of the progess made by technology to explore new frontiers but they reduce our scope for ingenuity. Technological advances have led to the automation of tasks which previously had to be done by hand. This has helped us surpass restrictions on the output of certain industrial and medical processes. Medical devices have greatly contributed to our increased lifespan and robot assisted surgery has alleviated our chances of success in critical operations.

Thus to conclude I believe that technology can be considered both a blessing and a curse. It depends on the perspective of the user and to what extent he is dependent on it. Some forms of technology are more useful than others while some technological devices are I believe consumer friendly and should be avoided to allow for self ability.