As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The progress of technology leads people to rely more and more on technology to solve problems that they met in education, work and ordinary life. And it also sparks controversy over the deteriorating of people’s ability to think for themselves. In my opinion, technology progress can really bring convenience and welfare to people’s life, their abilities to think for themselves in some fields are disturbed, but their abilities to think for themselves to solve more complicated poblems are totally enhanced.

Firstly, the digital age makes people use various tools to solve problems instead of their own thinking. Many apps in mobile phone can help people manage tasks in many fields. For example, the calendar app can help people arrange their everyday to-do-list and remind them those important things in special time. And people don’t need to write everything they should do in notebooks since the apps on mobile phones can remind them automatically. And the translating app can lead those non-native language learners to master new words or sentences they met in newspapers or websites in several seconds and it’s very convenient to get rid of the trouble of taking a heavy dictionary with them or looking through these new words and sentences in dictionary . So these apps can really decline their own abilities to think for themselves in many occasions where apps can help them reduce their time and energy.

However, in most occasions, the progress of technology enhances their abilities to think for themselves. Similarly, take the app for example. In app fields, various apps with different functions enable people more rational to analyze their own desire and economic situations. They will notice some functions of apps are what they don’t need and they won’t pay extra price for those functions. Except for desires and price factors, consumers also consider the learning cost of app since some apps are designed for professional people and even those professional people need time to master these apps. They should know basic rule and accumulate suitable knowledge to waste the app. The process of choosing app and learning to master app can toughen consumers' thinking abilities and force them to think some complicated problems such as improving their knowledge system and adjust their life focus. On the other hand, those app developers also enhance their thinking abilities since they should demonstrate strong abilities to be competent of research work. The upgrading of app needs developer to improve app’s functions and new app developing demand stronger thinking abilities to challenge those prevalent apps. So the development of technology makes people face more complicated and profound thinking challenge.

Technology can really bring convenience and welfare to people’s life with some problem such as their healthy and lifestyle at the same time. For example, prevalent apps make people focus on screens with less eye movement and walk and people will use social app to substitute face-to-face communication more and more. And those habits shaped by app products may be harmful for their eyesight and fitness and their relationships. So people need more profound thinking to solve those derivative problems in the development of technology progress.

In sum, technology progress liberates people from much superficial and tedious brain work, but it also brings more impetus to people to enhance their profound and powerful thinking abilities to analyze and solve those complicated problmes in technology progress. So the ability of humans to think for themselves will to a largely extant be enhanced in the process of loving problems.