As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology as stated above, does not necessarily deteriorate the way human being thinks. Imagine a world without technological advancement, it would be a bizzare because the people would not be able to think outside their immediate environment. Technology has long rendered prehistoric belief obsolete by making a revolutionary trend. Communication between families at a distance, production of super cars, discovery and eradication of deadly disease would not be possible if not for technology.

Technology bridge the gap between people living at a distance. First, technology made it possible for communication no matter the distance. For example, I have being living in the United States of America for some years, but because of technology I am able to communicate with my family in Nigeria. Second, technology has made it possible for people to engage themselves in social networking. For example, people communicate and share files over social network such as Facebook and Viber. Without technological advancement, all these would not possible.

Similarly, technology also provide benefits to other disciplines, such as Medical Field. Technology has made it possible to discover and eradicate deadly diseases. Before now, it was not possible to discover and eradicated some kind of disease but technology has made it possible. For example, Small Pox is a deadly disease which has killed countless number of people in the prehistoric era. Since the advent of technology, drugs and vaccines have been manufactured to assuage the problems. In addition to that benefits, women who have had problem getting pregnant, have been relieved because technology made it possible that even if a woman cannot get pregnant through intimate sex, they can also get pregnant through artificial insemination. Artificial insemination involves taking the sperm cells of the man and fusing it with the egg of the woman and then placed in a test tube to grow for some time before putting in inside the womb of the woman.

On the other hand, technology also have an adverse effect on human thinking. Relying more and more on technology make some people to be lazy thereby making them to be unable to think for themselves. This is to say that over reliance on technology cause some people not to task their brain. For example, before the advent of calculators, division and multiplication were done with the brain and people are able to reason for themselves. Since many people depend on calculator to do even the simplest math, their thinking deteriorates.

In conclusion, one can see that technology has a greater benefits over the adverse effects. Discovery and eradication of diseases, networking and manufacture of super cars has proved that it is better to be revolutionized than to be archaic. In as much as we consider both sides, it is better to also reduce the over dependency on technology so that some people can think for themselves because am very sure that we don't want to live in a world were people cannot make use of their brain.