As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

In the era of smartphones, tablets and other popular devices with keyboards and touchscreens that surround us on each step, one could easily get an impression that our ability to think for ourselves is rapidly detoriarating. If we want to subtract two numbers, we use our smartphones. If we want to think of a way to spend a pleasant weekend with our loved ones, we ask Google for advice. But stating that we will soon stop using our own brains would be an exaggeration.

Firstly, we use technology mostly for simple everyday tasks that would take too much of our prescious time if we did them ourselves. That leaves us much more time for other, not so trivial problems. Secondly, technology did not only open a whole new dimension of ideas, but it also created previously unexisting professions such as programmers. Thirdly, use of technology motivated human thinking so much, that in the previous 20 years we had hundreds of important discoveries that people living in the 19th century never even dreamt of.

Imagine working as a small business owner, where you encounter simple math problems in accounting on a daily basis. If you could not use devices such as calculators, you would have to spend hours and hours solving equations every day, which would leave you less time for other more complicated problems such as coming up with ways of making the business more frugal.

In addition to this, had computers never been invented, we would not have new proffesions such as programmers, IT experts and robotics engeneers. It is hard to imagine a modern world without pioneers of techonogy such as Bill Gates and Steve Jobs, who showed that they can not only think for themselves, but can also come up with brilliant inventions such as Windows and Apple.

Moreover, the use of technology has motivated scientists and inventors so much in the last 20 years. When humans invented the wheel, they could not imagine that today we will have amphibious vehicals that can funcion on dry land as well as the sea or cars that drive themselves. One could argue that people will soon become lazier than ever and let smart devices do everything for them – it is enough to press few buttons, relax and let the car drive itself. But the truth is these dramatic changes have not prevented us from using our brains. They have only lighten the fuse that led up to explosion of new ideas, propositions and solutions.

Considering everything said, the statement that technology will weaken our ability to think for ourselves is rifed with holes and as such can be rebutted.