As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology has excelled exponentially since the industrial era. Permeated through all disciplines, technology is an essential tool for society and mankind. Despite human’s reliance on technology, human thought has not deteriorated but is enhanced due to the tools that technology has given us.

Human thought itself has allowed the creation and advancement of technology. We developed technology to be used as tools to increase our productivity and abilities. Just like how a neuroscientist uses the latest cell imaging tools to produce the latest hypotheses, technology provides us with the ability to obtain information and data to perpetuate human thinking.

At first glance, it might seem like an increase in use of technology only hinders our creative development. But technology is far from being inherently creative. A machine cannot think for itself, or create novel ideas. All technology requires a human input to solve or complete a task. Therefore technology cannot function without human thought and is an extension of human innovation.

Though there is an argument to be made about technology’s hinderance on learning experiences. It is easy for a student who is learning multiplication or addition to just enter numbers into a calculator to solve for a problem. With the help of technology - in this case a calculator- this task requires very little thought. Although the student has accomplished the given task, the principles of basic mathematics and the thought require to properly solve the problem disappears.

Technology is a product of human innovation and creativity. If used properly, technology expands human thought and abilities.