As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology has made incredible progress in the past few decades. It has become an important part of our life: computers are what we rely heavily on everyday, planes take us everywhere in a short amount of time, and internet is a huge library of all kinds of information. As technology has changed our traditional way of life drastically, are we still able to think like we used to? Did we become less intelligent with the help of technology? The answer is negative. Humans are who created machines and we can definitely keep mastering them.

As technology advances, it generates more problems along the way that requires human, who can generate creativity and possess intrinsic wisdom, to solve them. The machines we created cannot think without us operating them, so they cannot solve the problems they cause, but we can. For example, computers did not detect the rising temperature in the past decades until we use them to analyze the data obtained by astrologists, we realized it was the heat-trapping gases that were produced during industrialization that caused Global Warming. All of these effort do not come from computers but us, human beings. There is no doubt that we still can think for ourselves.

We are utilizing technology to make our lives more convenient, not attaching to it. Without technology, we still can survive. The use of tablets and smart phones is a good example. The different kinds of applications on smart phones have created a revolutionary life style. We can travel everywhere a lot easier with map navigation, can learn the languages everywhere we go, and even search for the nearest restaurants and hotels. Before we can only rely on paper maps, and luck.

Indeed, I cannot deny the fact that some people do attach themselves to technology. When some people are not working, sometimes even when they are at work, they are on their cell phones. Many accidents occur due to people playing cell phones while passing a street, or driving. When processed food is easier and cheaper to purchase, health problems associated with junk food, such as high cholesterol and diabetes, appear more often than before.

In summary, the advancing technology does not deteriorate our thinking. In fact, it frees our minds to a higher level. We think more often and solve more complex problems with the help from technology.