People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should

consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

Of all the animals only humankind has the ability to question, this ability makes us superior to other animals. Our capacity to reason and question things based on our innate curiosity has helped us leap many social and technological barriers. Questioning authority is not all different than questioning the rules of nature. Where we can’t alter the rules of nature, we can, however, change the rules made by societies by questioning them and revealing their ulterior motives. Hence, I am of the firm belief that people should question the rules of authority instead of accepting them quietly.

Questioning authority does not mean, you have to write an angry screed against it or go to create a junta to topple the authorities. It simply means to seek out the truth by properly complaining and criticizing certain rules that are either not productive or are not in favor of the mass populace. “Friction creates fire”, this maxim accurately illustrates how a resistance to something can turn into something productive for the society. There are many examples in the history where we have seen theory work, whether it is the French and American Revolution or the independence of the Indian subcontinent from the British Raj, all of them are a result of people questioning the rules of authority.

Another example of people aptly standing up against the farce rules made the society is cited in the first wave of the feminist movement. In today’s world, the most important commodity is not gold or silver, it’s the human brain and back then in the 1970s nearly half of the population (women) wasn’t allowed to work, depriving the country of its biggest resource. This movement questioned the patriarchal mindset of the authorities by advocating for the basic rights of women. Again this resistance by women to conform to the norms of society helped us progress as in all spheres of life. Today we see many successful women contributing to the betterment of society in unimaginable aspects, all this wouldn’t have been possible if they had just agreed to the rules made by the authorities and sat at home quietly knitting their lives away.

But, this doesn’t mean that we have should question every decision made by the authorities. This would create havoc, and nothing would be achieved. Alternatively, we should strive to understand the reasons behind the rule or policy in question. For example, many countries have banned the use of plastic bags, one of which countries is Pakistan, a commendable action which was received with severe criticism from the public. They did not understand the reason or even the need for this rule to be implemented. The problem is sometimes the general population is unaware of the circumstances under which a particular becomes a necessity, like the ban on plastic bag, is a necessity given the dire climatic conditions.

In conclusion, I can say that I am a strong advocate of the given prompt, people should not passively accept the rules of authorities, but rather question them to understand their impact on the society. But, people should also be cautious of question every rule, as there are certain things are best left to the experts to decide.