People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decision making is the art of taking correct decisions, often equanimity, in important situations. The given prompt asserts that people who justify decisions, taken previously based on emotions, later with logic are poor decision makers. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the assertion and argue that we must strive to arrive at a decision based on logical reasoning and thorough analysis for these reasons.

First, decisions must be be taken on the premise of logic, rather than than emotions, beforehand. We are all aware of the fact that "Time and tide waits for none" and that it is always better to discern the whole situation and then arrive upon a decision. We must take stock of all aspects that concern the decision. For instance,if a company decides to provide free service to locals based on their attachement to their loyal customer base then it might lead to huge losses and prove to be not a 'wise' decision in long run. Thus, we must discern the situation based on merits as "There's no use in crying over spilled milk".

Furthermore, we must not let emotions get over our consciousness. It is good to have an emotional quotient, however, it must be limited and used appropriately. Research has consistently demonstrated that decisions, based on emotions, often prove to be inept for the particular situation. For instance, consider a student about to enroll into college. Choice's of one college major is not a trivial one. But, the students ends up pursuing a profession of their parents, just based on emotional attachment to that field. If the kid is inept in that particular field, it dramatically enervates the chances for his/her success. Thus, we must control and emotions and not let them interfere our decision-making process.

Finally, all decisions must be evaluated based on the the prevailing conditions at that time. Essentially, the rationale of the decision must be based on the premise of merits and demerits. We know that every coin has two sides. We must evaluate and analyze both, the positives and negatives of the decision. If the positive outweight the negatives, then the decision can be taken into contention. This is perhaps the most basic and easy method of decision making. Moreover, a plethora of factors lead the decision making, in specific fields such as engineering, finance and medicine. Thus, the factors pertaining to the specific fields must be taken into account for decision making.

Of course, some might argue that it is often the exigency of the situation that calls into account taking decision based on emotions. It is true in some specific situations such as war, disaster management etc. Howover, in most of the cases, decisions which are based on logical considerations are propitious. Therefore, we must discern the situation based on logic reasoning and then take appropriate decision.