People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The statement that people who makes decisions based on emotions and later justify those decisions with logic are poor decision makers is a compelling one. I mostly agree with the statement but it is one that I cannot fully endorse without qualification due to it's 'all or nothing' approach in totally disregarding the role of emotions when making a decision.

People who makes decision based on emotions usually lack self-control. For example, impulsive shoppers who gets consumed with emotion will purchase an item that is fashionable and the latest fad without considering whether they really need the item. Impulsive shoppers are not able to discriminate between something that is a need than a necessity, that will lead to wasting money on unessential items. Advertisers and sales personnel, aware of this tendency, will exploit people by playing on their emotions in order to secure a purchase that one might come to regret later.

Emotion usually gets the better of sound decision and clouds judgement, and might result in someone not deliberating carefully about the potential ramifications of their actions. One example that lives vividly in many people’s mind is the decision of the Bush administration to invade Iraq after the 911 incident. Pressured by lobbyists and fueled by the frustration and anger of the general public to strike back at Osama, George Bush made the uncalculated move to send troops to Iraq, signalling the start of the Iraq war. It was a rash decision that costed the lives of many American soldiers and wasted billions of dollars in the ensuing years. The administration later came out to justify their decision of starting the war with reasonings such as the evidence that Osama's regime had weapons of mass destruction. The claim is widely disputed and critics claim that is used mainly to distract from the main point that it was a poor decision to invade Iraq.

However said, some decisions outcome are not so clear cut or have binary results, so at times the only good measure of a decision is based on emotion. The adage ‘carpe diem’ or ‘seize the day’ suggests that one should let the heart rule over the head, and grab an opportunity when one arises. In other words, instinct and emotions can help aid in the decision-making process, rather than the sole dependence on logic. Many business honchos have made difficult decisions on the basis of gut feelings. For example, founder of US tech giant Apple, Steve Jobs made the bold move to drop the stylus from their iPhone range completely. He made the decision not based on solid empirical evidences but because he felt that customers would rather use ‘the best pointing device that they are born with, in fact 10 of them, which is their fingers’ than the cumbersome stylus. This decisions turned out to be a ‘stroke of pure genius’ in hindsight as the sales of the phone skyrocketed as compared to previous models.

In conclusion, we can there are cases where making a decision based on emotion are poor decision makers. However, some decisions can’t easily be made on the basis of logic alone, and making a choice guided by emotion and instinct could very often work wonders. Just as the brain and heart work in tandem to keep the human body functioning smoothly, one may assert that both emotions and logic are complementary to each other. Therefore, the truth to the statement is limited.