People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Emotions are an inherent part of human nature and an important characteristic that distinguishes one individual from another. These emotions can be put to use in variety of circumstances in our daily lives and influence our decision making capacity as well. However, how these emotions influence our decision making can greatly affect ones circumstance.

For the most part a lack of emotions while making decisions and thinking about the problem at hand logically would be a better bet, take for example the current scenario taking place in India which at present appears to be in a state of verbal war with its neighbor Pakistan. The recent attacks by Pakistan on India lead to country wide resentment among the citizens of India. The situation seems so delicate that a war between the two countries would seem inevitable at glance. However, even in this scenario, the Indian diplomats setting aside their anger, pursued a very tactical approach to isolate Pakistan globally. Had this gone the other way around with emotions taking hold of oneself it would have certainly lead to war and deaths of millions.

The above is one such example albeit on a global scale where had emotions gotten the better of people, it would have lead to a catastrophic decision which although justified would definitely not have been the best course of action. Hence, we can say that taking decisions based on emotions although justified by logical reasoning would not lead to a good decision and a better decision can be reached if a problem at hand is analyzed objectively rather than emotionally.

However, in stark contrast there are certain situations that life presents us with, where emotion may lead to a better overall decision even though logically it may look avoidable.

Take for example giving money to a extremely poor person or offering food to a person clearly in an emaciated condition. Such an act logically is unnecessary as you are simply giving your hard earned money or food to someone else. However, it is these emotions that make us human, emotions that help in understanding the situations of other people and offering unconditional help to others.

Therefore, in conclusion it can be said that although not involving emotions and thinking logically may be a good approach in our daily lives and help us in achieving our goals, but there will always be certain circumstances during ones life where taking decisions emotionally would also hold good.