People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

People today encounter with a myriad of situation every day, where they are required to take action based on their decisions. Given the limited time that they have at their disposal, it is possible that they feel inclined to make decisions based on their emotions. However, this may not lead to propitious situations and to further claim that their decisions were logic based is no excuse.

Students today are asked to choose a major in college based on their experiences so far in high school. It may not always be possible to arrive at a logical way to choose a major. It is possible that there is some emotional quotient involved in choosing their major. For example, if a student is the child of a couple of computer scientists it is possible he/she feels inclined to pursue a discipline in the same. However, it is possible that the student might have found it to be not a good fit for him/her later in college. In order to realise what went wrong while choosing a major, the student must consider an emotional inclination to pick the discipline he chose. Else, he/she may never truly realise the reason for the bad decision. Without truly recognising all the factors that persuaded him to the decision will continue to affect his future decisions.

One of the choices that people tend to make are to choose the organisation they prefer to work at. Yet again there might be several factors involved in choosing so. A purely logical one could be choose one where the person could advance his/her career to the best possible level. However, there might be other factors that might persuade a person in choosing so. The choice of city, the commute time to work or it could be because they could stay close to people they are emotionally related with. Any choice in the above are not bad until the person realises the actual reason behind making such a choice.

It is difficult to always know, given the complex nature of human kind, to be sure that a decision being made is free of any emotion. However, in order to become better at making decisions one needs to hold him/herself accountable for the decisions made in the right way by identifying various factors such as an emotional bias that were involved in doing so. Failing to do so, and defending their decision to be purely a logical one would only make them bad decision makers.