People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No, I do not believe the statement is correct. It is necessary to make decisions both with logic and with emotions, but the order in which they happen is not too consequential. Emotions are really not that independent of mindful logic after all. As evolutionary instinct, they enable us to process information, especially pertinent, time-sensitive, and potentially dangerous situations, in multiple logical chunks at once, intermediate steps along the way. As such, they are invaluable to the decision-making process, especially in time-sensitive fight-or-flight situation

Consider the case of cult victims: many do not realize they are in an unhealthy environment until they have suffered debilitating psychological attacks. Those who escape cults, or situations of extreme social influence, remember ignoring their feelings and instincts in adherence to the group doctrine. Many later report experiencing paranoia, anxiety, and feelings that some aspects of the message do not quite add up; however because the philosophy is full of double and triple binds of logic -- multiple layers of justification and counter-logic for the group philosophy, as well as purported consequences for dissenting thoughts -- they are unable to sequentially process through the many fallacies that make up the belief. They inadvertently succumb and are left to silently and subconsciously suffer repressed hurts. If these victims had learned prior to their cult experience the importance of giving heed to emotions even when they cannot quite add up the steps that come to that conclusion, they would have concluded sooner that they are in a dangerous environment and looked for escape routes. This is better decision-making!

Furthermore, considering the child-rearing process, emotion based decision-making is necessary for communicating with and taking care of an infant. Babies are able to express emotions earlier and faster than they can logic. They are not able to verbally express their need in the earliest infancy, but their wails, cries, and laughs are indispensable for communicating with the mother. The mother must also receive and act on the the transmitted messages quickly and emotionally. She really does not have the time to logically and sequentially process through what is wrong with the child. She must act on supposed causes one by one, quickly and without much deliberation. The baby appreciates this as better decision-making.